Obsidian (LUX Novel 1): Book Review

12578077
Book Blurb:

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

My Humble Opinion:
I love this book. Because … Aliens!!!
785824

Always had a secret little fetish for Aliens. Add to that my love for superheros with awesome powers and my exasperation with realistic stories of unrequited love and the impossibility of inter-species relationships (cough cough Sookie Stackhouse series cough cough), this book was an absolute breath of needed fresh air.

Won’t go into the story here. That’s for you to read and me to be smug over having read it already.

We have the other-alien-villain-race that is hell bent on obliterating Daemon’s people. Secret government organizations that track and try to keep ahead of each of these races. Under cover human-alien experiments. And a missing, suspected dead, twin, who needs to be found. Makes for the light but engrossing kind of page turner, with all the elements of a superhero romance put in for the kicks.
Now quite a lot of readers have said that Obsidian is reminiscent of Twilight and what not. But honestly folks, I liked Obsidian (and Onyx and Opal, and all the other books in the LUX series) much more than the famed Twilight series, or the other regular dark hero stuff going around. The main tipping point being, Daemon Black, the hero who while being a jerk, is not a depressed debby downer and the heroine is a normal human being, not a weepy dishrag!
Obsidian
So Daemon Black is dreamy. He totally owns his otherness, his powers, his beauty and the whole frikking show. So when he comes up in a scene, the nerd in me does a happy dance and claps gleefully, because Daemon Black is not ashamed of what he is. He is actually quite proud of himself and his powers. SOOO not an ANTIHERO! (I think the Daemon they got on the book cover is meh and totally picture Bill Skarsgard in the role but that’s besides the point 😀 ) The heroine, Katy (I loved her nickname Kitten by the way) is the regular teen. She is not uncoordinated, not shy, just a little awkward like most of us are at the age. Katy is funny, butts heads with the best of them and loves fiercely. She reads a lot, also like a lot of us. The best part is that she writes a book blog.
page_end
The day my internet was hooked up was better than having a hot guy check out my butt and ask for my phone number.
page_end
And Thank God for no insta-love. The story develops from Katy and Daemon cutting each other to pieces, amidst checking each other out…
page_end
“You’re such an ass. Has anyone ever told you that?”
He flashed a genuinly amused smile. “Oh, Kitten, every single day of my blessed life.”
page_end
My palms itched to have a close encounter of the bitch-slap kind with his face.
page_end
“The son of a bitch blew up my laptop.”
page_end
…to being forced and then actual friends, albeit simultaneously getting hot for each other …
page_end
“You don’t look like an alien!’ It seemed important to point that out.

He arched a brow. ‘And what do aliens look like?’

‘Not…not like you,’ I sputtered. ‘They aren’t gorgeous–‘

‘You think I’m gorgeous?’ He smiled.”

page_end
…to eventually give in and become lovers.
page_end
“Will you show me what you really look like? You don’t sparkle, do you? And please tell me I didn’t almost kiss a giant brain-eating insect, because seriously, I’m gonna—”

“Kat!”

“Sorry,” I muttered.”page_end

“I won’t hurt you, Kat.” His tone was softer, but still laced with fury as he tried to control me without doing any real damage. “I could never hurt you.”
page_end
Obsidian, the first book in the LUX series, is an awesome SCI-FI, YA, action packed romantic adventure series with twists, turns and lotsa surprises.
I finished Obsidian in one sitting, started after dinner and was finished the next morning. I then promptly started with the next books of the series, household duties be damned.  I loved it. I would completely recommend it to the readers of the supernatural/fantasy/scifi romance genre.
Leave a Reply

